Posted by: Chuck | April 25, 2013

Hard Times in the Philippines


Good day friends and here is the straight news from the Big House in Danao, Philippines… I do hope you all have a nice day wherever you’re at. All is peaceful and quiet here at the Big House. Mama is quiet as a church mouse. I understand she watered the plants and grass twice everyday – once in the morning and again late in the evening when water pressure is on. My wife Beng is looking forward to traveling to the states this coming August. Junior is trying his best to find himself and face the day’s challenges. Both Beng and our son played two rounds of badminton last night. They both need each other. Me, I am the old fart that lives upstairs in the Big House. The heat goes on but if I lived in Alaska as I once did so many years ago, I’d probably moan about how cold it was. I am a bit confused, for the live of me I just don’t understand what is going on in America today; I remember as a kid I was always safe day or night. Is this the End of the World, I hope not. If I could point to a place in time when things began to change, it was on a warm day in Dallas when JFK fell to a bullet – the world than turned upside down on that October day. I’m working on my first E – Book, so far I’ve written 6,000 words but I am struck right now. I hope it’ll be a whopper!

World map showing percent of population living...

World map showing percent of population living below their national poverty line. Grey means no information. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Manila, PhilippinesThe country’s poverty incidence has remained unchanged at 27.9 percent during the first semester of 2012 compared with the 2006 level of 28.8 percent, according to the National Statistical Coordination Board (NSCB). NSCB Director-General Jose Albert said that a Filipino family of five needs P5,458 to meet basic food requirements every month and P7,821 to stay above the poverty threshold.

These respective amounts represent the food and poverty thresholds, which increased by 11.1 percent from the first semester of 2009 to the first half of 2012, compared to the 26.0 percent-increase between the 1st semesters of 2006 and 2009. The food threshold is the minimum income required by an individual to meet his or her basic food needs and satisfy the nutritional requirements set by the Food and Nutrition Research Institute (FNRI), while remaining economically and socially productive.

Jeepney in Manila, Philippines

Jeepney in Manila, Philippines (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The Philippines has failed to make headway in cutting rampant poverty, with more than one in four citizens deemed poor despite the country’s economic growth, according to census figures released Tuesday. The July 2012 poverty rate of 27.9 percent is practically unchanged from 2006 and 2009 data, according to the National Statistical Coordination Board. Filipinos forced to live on less than US $0.62 a day are considered poor, according to the government’s poverty threshold.

There are only two things that you cannot hide, when you are drunk, and when you are in love. May the peace of the Lord be with you always.

Categories

