Posted by: Chuck | September 20, 2013

Thanks Steven Spielberg for the memories


Hello friends, welcome to my blog on this fine day in Danao. The brightest future will always be based on a forgotten past, you cannot go on well in life until you let go of your past failures and heartaches.Next time your on Camotes Island and if you have the money and energy and remaining liver and then  knock out a few bottles of San Miguel, spend some time with the pretty girls… oh yeah… and if you have the get-up-and-go then catch up on you’re diving in between.

I have to tell you a story about my wife’s Uncle PePe who is a fisherman from the nearby Camotes Islands. When I moved here from the States we hired him to work around our house as helper. On one occasion after we all settled in for the evening I put on the Steven Spielberg’s “Jurassic Park” movie into our DVD player. Since I had already seen the thriller several times I sort of watched PePe out of the corner my eye to see what his reaction was to this very almost alive scary movie. Once the movie had started it had his full attention and then when the man-eating dinosaurs came loose he immediately without any doubt became frightened out his wits.  As the movie’s tempo picked up I glanced over to him and seen with his feet were ready to spring up and ready to crawl out our living room window. The whole movie was unbelievable to him. My favorite part of my story, afterwards hardly breathing he was uncomfortable and ready to return to his island. He then asked my wife if the movie was true and if there was a place were these real life nightmarish dinosaurs lived. No I replied the movie was made-believe but to this day I don’t think he believed me. He couldn’t wrap his brain around what he just seen.

A weekend get-away to Cebu, the city is located just three hours away by air from Singapore, Cebu is known for its beautiful beaches and interesting local culture and history. If you are planning a weekend getaway trip to Cebu from Singapore, the Plantation Bay Resort and Spa makes for a great base for you to experience the best that Cebu has to offer.

Categories

