Posted by: Chuck | September 26, 2013

Mactan Ferry, Muelle Osmena, Lapu Lapu, Cebu, Philippines

Published on June 10, 2013

The City of Cebu is the capital city of the province of Cebu and is the second city of the Philippines. With a population of 866,171 as per the 2010 census, it is the fifth most populated city in the country. Cebu City is a significant centre of commerce, trade and education in the Visayas region. The city is located on the eastern shore of Cebu island. It is the first Spanish settlement and the oldest city in the Philippines. Cebu is the Philippines’ main domestic shipping port and is home to about 80% of the country’s domestic shipping companies. It is the center of a metropolitan area called Metro Cebu, which includes the cities of Carcar, Danao, Lapu-lapu, Mandaue, Naga, Talisay. Metro Cebu has a total population of about 2 million people. To the northeast of the city are Mandaue and the town of Consolacion, to the west are Toledo City, the towns of Balamban and Asturias, to the south are Talisay City and the town of Minglanilla. Across Mactan Strait to the east is Mactan Island.



%d bloggers like this: